Committee details


Purpose of committee

Nine Councillors sit on the Planning Committee at Redditch Borough Council.  The Committee meets every four weeks at Redditch Town Hall.  The membership of the Committee will be determined at the Council AGM on the 21 May 2018.


The Planning Committee has the power to make decisions on the following areas:


  • applications for planning consent;
  • Listed Building consent;
  • Conservation consent;
  • Advertisement consent;
  • consent for works to trees in Conservation Areas and trees protected by Tree Preservation Orders;
  • applications for hedgerow removal; and
  • enforcement matters.


Not all applications go before the Planning Committee.  Planning Officers are delegated with the power to work on some applications.  If you are uncertain about whether a particular application will go before the Planning Committee please contact Planning Services.


Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings of the Planning Committee.  Public speaking is also permitted at meetings of the Committee.  Any member of the public who wishes to speak on a particular application is required to register their interest by no later than 12 noon on the day of the Committee meeting.  There is, however, a protocol for public speaking at meetings with restrictions on the amount of time allowed to address the Committee


If you would like to register to speak at a meeting of the Planning Committee or want further information on the process for addressing the Committee, please contact Democratic Services (01527) 64252 Ext 3268 / email:





Contact information

Support officer: Sarah Sellers. Democratic Services Officer

Postal address:
Redditch Borough Council
Town Hall
Walter Stranz Square
B98 8AH

Phone: 01527 64252 ext 2884

Fax: 01527 65216


Web site: